May 19, 2005
Professor Heydari Receives IEEE Circuits and Systems Society's 2005 Darlington Best Paper Award
Award recognizes "IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems" best published paper, over a two-year time period
May 14, 2005
UCI Professor Receives NASA's Distinguished Public Service Award
NASA�s highest honor bestowed upon Sorooshian for contributions to the World Climate Research Programme
May 4, 2005
Executives From AMO, Broadcom, Boeing, Toyota and Others to Speak at UC Irvine's California: Prosperity Through Technology Sym
Two-day event to address convergence trends in engineering fueling California's economic growth
Apr 18, 2005
Professsor Burke Receives National Academies Grant
Peter Burke awarded $75,000 from the National Academies Keck Futures Initiative to support research on carbon nanotube synthesis
Apr 18, 2005
UCI Professor Receives Grant to Advance C-MEMS Batteries
Marc Madou awarded $75,000 for product development and market study of his reconfigurable three-dimensional Li-ion micro-batteries based on Carbon Micro-Electro Mechanical Systems (C-MEMS) technology
Apr 5, 2005
IEEE Welcomes Professor de Figueiredo as a Distinguished Lecturer
Artificial Neural Networks Topic of Discussion at Circuits and Systems Society Lecture
Apr 4, 2005
US News & World Report Names the Samueli School to the Top 40
School of Engineering Moves Up in 2006 Best Graduate School Rankings
Mar 22, 2005
National Fuel Cell Research Center at UCI Sponsors Exhibit in U.S. Pavilion at 2005 World's Fair in Japan
Nearly 2 Million Visitors Expected to View Exhibit Between March 25 and Sept. 25
Mar 7, 2005
Biomedical Engineering Professor Named AIMBE Fellow
Zhongping Chen Honored for Leadership in Biophotonics and Optical Imaging
Feb 21, 2005
UCI Professor Receives NSF CAREER Award
Payam Heydari Recognized for Research in "Analysis and Design of Silicon-Based Performance-Optimized Integrated Circuits for High-Frequency Wideband Wireless Communication Systems"
Jan 31, 2005
New Funding Boosts Summer Research Opportunities
Jan 27, 2005
UCI Division to Adminsister Nicholas Foundation Prize; Call for Proposals Issued
Jan 24, 2005
Nicholas Foundation Grants $100K to Establish Fellowships Supporting the Center for Embedded Computer Systems

Jan. 24, 2005 - The Center for Embedded Computer Systems (CECS) at the University of California, Irvine has been granted $100,000 from The Nicholas Foundation to establish two fellowships that will support UCI graduate students performing interdisciplinary research in the field of embedded systems. The "Henry T. Nicholas, III Research Fellows," will be awarded during the 2005-2006 academic term, and will provide a stipend in addition to payment of tuition and fees for one academic year.

Jan 10, 2005
UCI's Shkel Named NSF CAREER Award Winner
Dec 21, 2004
Professor Healey Elected IEEE Fellow
Glenn Healey, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, has been elected an IEEE Fellow for "contributions to the modeling and processing of multispectral and hyperspectral images."

Each year the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) recognizes a small fraction of its membership by election to Fellow grade in recognition of extraordinary achievement.

Dec 13, 2004
NSF Grants Early Career Development Award to Professor Chou
Pai Chou, Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, has been honored by the National Science Foundation with a Faculty Early Career Development Award (CAREER) for his research in embedded wireless sensing systems

The CAREER Award is NSF’s most prestigious commendation for new faculty members, recognizing the early career development activities of scholars most likely to become the academic leaders of the 21st century. CAREER awardees are selected on the basis of creative, career-development plans that effectively integrate research and education within the context of the mission of their institution.

Dec 13, 2004
Professor Kurdahi Elected 2005 IEEE Fellow
Fadi J. Kurdahi, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, has been elected an IEEE fellow for "contributions to design automation of digital systems and to reconfigurable computing."
Dec 9, 2004
Professor Kim Receives IEEE Tsutomu Kanai Award

Kim recognized for advancing real-time distributed computing

Nov 15, 2004
Samueli School Presents Annual Highlights From 2003-2004
The past year brought about many key advances, highlighted by the growth in faculty, grants and research expenditures.  Read on to learn more about the Henry Samueli School of Engineering
Nov 9, 2004
Professor Kim Elected President of the Korean-American Scientists and Engineers Association

Kane Kim, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, has been elected President of the Korean-American Scientists and Engineers Association (KSEA). KSEA has 2,000 members and has been active for more than 30 years.

Professor Kim is currently the President-elect for the July 2004 - June 2005 term and will serve as President over the July 2005 - June 2006 term. Kim plans to host the 2005 USA - Korea Conference on Science, Technology and Entrepreneurship (UKC) in August 2005 on the UCI campus.


2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002