Mar 21, 2007
A New IEEE Fellow Named Among UC Irvine Engineers
Harut Barsamian recognized for contributions to computer architecture, dynamic microprogramming, and associative search algorithms
Nov 29, 2006
Professor Wickramasinghe Honored In 2006 “Scientific American 50”
Scientific American’s prestigious annual list recognizes science and technology contributions from many fields
Nov 1, 2006
Professor Jafar Awarded Faculty Early Career Development Award from NSF
Honored and recognized for his research on wireless networks with side information
Oct 12, 2006
In Memoriam of Dr. Hideya Gamo
Remembering a Henry Samueli School of Engineering professor emeritus of electrical engineering and computer science
Aug 24, 2006
“Who’s Who in Science and Engineering” Honors Samueli School Recipient
Harut Barsamian chosen for his outstanding achievements in engineering research
Jul 18, 2006
Tackling the Challenge of Prolonging Battery Life in Cell Phones, Laptops with Advanced Radio-Frequency Technology
New prototypes reduce power consumption and extend battery life by more than eight times the current technology in popular wireless devices
Jul 6, 2006
Professor Jafarkhani’s Paper on Space-time Block Codes Receives Prominent Recognition by Thomson Scientific Essential Science
Deemed as a highly cited emerging front paper
Feb 28, 2006
University of Oldenburg Presents Gajski With Honorary Doctorate
Honored for his contributions to embedded systems and design science
Dec 9, 2004
Professor Kim Receives IEEE Tsutomu Kanai Award

Kim recognized for advancing real-time distributed computing

Aug 8, 2004
Professor de Figueiredo Honored at IEEE Conference

Aug 2, 2004
EECS Graduate student wins IEEE Fellowship

Pedram Z. Dashti, a graduate student in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science department, was recently awarded a $5,000 IEEE Lasers and Electro Optic Society (LEOS) fellowship. The annual award is based on research achievements of graduate students working in the field of electro-optic, lasers, photonics, or closely related fields.

Jul 27, 2004
Professor Daniel Gajski receives award for "ICS Mentor of the Year"

Nov 3, 2003
Ender Ayanoglu Named Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Communications

Oct 7, 2003
UC Irvine Engineering Professor Receives $1.2 Million to Create Next Generation of "Phased Array" Antennas

Breakthrough Fabrication Technology Expected to Spur Wider Commercial Use of These Adjustable Directive Antennas

Irvine, Calif., October 7, 2003 — UC Irvine electrical engineering professor Franco De Flaviis has been awarded a $1.2 million grant from DARPA (Defense Advanced Research Projects Administration) to fabricate lighter and less expensive "phased array" antennas that could be incorporated into commercial products.

Jun 16, 2003
Department Chair Re-Elected to Lead IEEE Computer Architecture Committee

Apr 15, 2003
Professor Ayanoglu Named Conexant-Broadcom Endowed Chair


Professor Ender A

Jan 15, 2003
Jean-Luc Gaudiot Named as New Chair of Renamed Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science


New Chair to Head Renamed Department

Oct 30, 2002
EECS Professor Garners $150,000 Army Award

Peter J. Burke, assistant professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, received a highly competitive Young Investigator Program Award from the U.S. Army. Burke will receive $150,000 over three years, the maximum award.


2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002