Engineering Leadership Council

The primary mission of the Engineering Leadership Council (ELC) is to assist The Henry Samueli School of Engineering in developing strategic relationships with the engineering and business community, within Orange County and nationwide, which will garner the support necessary to ensure the School can reach its academic goals into the foreseeable future. A secondary mission of the ELC is to provide meaningful advice to the dean and faculty of the School regarding academic and research goals.


Engineering initiatives touch almost every sector of Orange County's economy, and of the nation. Therefore, the ELC members include experienced professionals in traditional fields of engineering; engineers and managers of high technology and biomedical companies; venture capitalists; and other prominent members of the Orange County business community.

Current Engineering Leadership Council members include:

Nicolaos G. Alexopoulos, Ph.D., Vice President, Antenna and RF Research and University Relations, Office of the Chief Technology Officer
Broadcom Corporation

Tom Ambrose
Emulex Corporation

James Aralis, Corporate Chief Technical Officer, Vice President of R&D and Engineering
Microsemi Corporation

Donald R. Beall, Chairman Emeritus
Rockwell International

Brian R. Bennett, Director, Advanced Platform Operations
Intel Corporation

Gregory N. Brand, Vice President, Engineering, DRS Sensors & Targeting Systems
DRS Defense Solutions

William C. Cain, Ph.D., Vice President, Technology
Western Digital Corporation

Mark T. Czaja, Group Vice President, Technology and Innovation
Parker Hannifin Corporation, Aerospace Group

Feyzi Fatehi, Chief Executive Officer
Corent Technology, Inc.

Bruce W. Feuchter, Attorney at Law
Stradling Yocca Carlson & Rauth

Pete Fiacco, Vice President, Engineering
Emulex Corporation

Dominic Gallello, President and CEO
MSC Software

Robert E. Grant, Chairman
Strathspey Crown LLC

Raouf Y. Halim, Chief Executive Officer
Mindspeed Technologies, Inc.

Michel R. Kamel, Ph.D., CEO/President
MelRok Corporation

Robert A. Kleist, Chairman
Printronix, Inc.

Leo G. LaForge, Senior Director, Cabin Systems, Commercial Systems Engineering
Rockwell Collins

William “Bill” J. Link, Ph.D., Managing Director
Versant Ventures

James V. Mazzo, President
Abbott Medical Optics, Inc.

James “Jim” M. McCluney, CEO
Emulex Corporation

Jim Mulato, President
EADS North America

Michael A. Mussallem, Chairman and CEO
Edwards Lifesciences Corporation

Stacey Nicholas

Daryl G. Pelc, Vice President, Engineering and Technology, Phantom Works
The Boeing Company

Robert J. Phillippy, President and CEO
Newport Corporation

Jane E. Rady, Divisional Vice President, Business Development and Communications
Abbott Medical Optics, Inc.

Leila Rohani, Sr. Vice President & Regional Manager, Commercial Banking
Pacific Mercantile Bank

Stanton “Stan” J. Rowe, Corporate Vice President, Advanced Technology, Chief Scientific Officer
Edwards Lifesciences Corporation

Henry Samueli, Ph.D., Co-Founder, Chairman and Chief Technical Officer
Broadcom Corporation

Frederick “Fred” E. Schreiner, Senior Vice President, IFS Engineering
Thales Avionics, Inc.

Paul N. Singarella, Attorney at Law and Partner
Latham & Watkins LLP

Gerald R. Solomon, Executive Director
The Samueli Foundation

James P. Spoto, President and CEO
Sunrise Micro Devices Inc.

Vincent L. Thomas, Principal Engineering Manager
Rockwell Collins

John J. Tracy, Ph.D., Senior Vice President, Engineering, Operations & Technology and CTO
The Boeing Company

Truc Q. Vu, Ph.D., Vice President, Wafer Fab Technology
Microsemi Corporation

Gregory N. Washington, Ph.D., Dean (Ex-Officio Member)
The Henry Samueli School of Engineering, UC Irvine

Ruben Zadoyan, Ph.D., Senior Director, Technology and Applications Center
Newport Corporation