Graduate Departmental Contact Information

Graduate Departmental Contact Information

The Role of a Faculty Graduate Advisor
The Graduate Advisor serves as a prospective or current student’s first point of contact within the faculty of any given department or program. The Graduate Advisor typically serves as the admission committee chair, and thus answers questions from prospective students regarding research or course content. Graduate Advisors also serve current students in their given department or program by reviewing all requests (petitions, part-time status, leave of absence, etc.) and are particularly involved any time a current student would like to request an exception to policy.

The Role of the Graduate Coordinator
Each department has its own Graduate Coordinator. These staff members serve as your departmental contact for questions regarding funding and forms processing. They also provide exception memos and serve as a liaison with the Departmental Faculty Graduate Advisors and with the Graduate Student Affairs office.

Biomedical Engineering Department
Graduate Advisor: Dr. Tibor Juhasz  tjuhasz@uci.edu
Graduate Coordinator: Cristina Surpless  csurp@uci.edu
 

Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Department
Chemical and Biochemical Engineering Program
Graduate Advisor: Dr. Ali Mohraz  mohraz@uci.edu

Materials Science and Engineering Program
Graduate Advisor: Dr. Regina Ragan  rragan@uci.edu

Graduate Coordinator: Grace Chau  chaug@uci.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering Department
Graduate Advisor: Dr. Farzin Zareian  zareian@uci.edu
Graduate Coordinator: April Heath  a.heath@uci.edu

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department
Graduate Advisor: Dr. Syed Jafar  syed@uci.edu
Graduate Coordinator: Amy Pham amy.pham@uci.edu

Engineering Management
Program Director: Dr. John LaRue jclarue@uci.edu
Graduate Coordinator: Jean Bennett jean.bennett@uci.edu

Environmental Engineering School-Wide Concentration
Graduate Advisor: Dr. Derek Dunn-Rankin ddunnran@uci.edu
Graduate Coordinator: April Heath  a.heath@uci.edu

Materials and Manufacturing Technology School-Wide Concentration
Graduate Advisor: Dr. Chin Lee  cclee@uci.edu
Graduate Coordinator: Jean Bennett jean.bennett@uci.edu

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department
Prospective Students
Graduate Advisor: Dr. Timothy Rupert  trupert@uci.edu

Current Students
Graduate Advisor: Dr. Roger Rangel  rhrangel@uci.edu

Graduate Coordinator: Louise Yeager  lyeager@uci.edu

Networked Systems Interdisciplinary Program
Graduate Advisor: Dr. Athina Markopoulou  athina@uci.edu
Graduate Coordinator: Amy Pham  amy.pham@uci.edu