Faculty

Michael Berns, Ph.D. Professor, Departments of Biomedical Engineering, Surgery, and Cell Biology
Research Interests: photomedicine, laser microscopy, biomedical devices
Email: mwberns@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Bern's Research Lab

Elliot Botvinick, Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Departments of Biomedical Engineering and Surgery
Research Interests: cellular and tissue biomechanics, cellular mechanotransduction, tissue function, vascular mechanobiology
Email: elliot.botvinick@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Botvinick's Research Lab

Gregory Brewer Adjunct Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: brain neuron network engineering, decoding memory in the brain, live neuronal networks, neuroscience of aging, Alzheimer's disease
Email: gjbrewer@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Brewer's Web Page

James Brody, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Single molecule dynamics, bioinformatics, functional genomics, surface plasmon resonance.
Email: jpbrody@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Brody's Research Lab  

Zhongping Chen, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: microfabrication and fiber-optic based biomedical imaging systems development
Email: z2chen@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Chen's Research Lab  

Bernard Choi, Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Departments of Biomedical Engineering and Surgery
Research Interests: In vivo research, optical imaging, microvasculature, therapy monitoring, neurosurgery, dermatology, instrumentation development
Email: choib@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Choi’s Research Lab  

Michelle Digman, Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests:
Email: mdigman@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Digman's Research Lab

Beth Lopour, Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: computational neuroscience, signal processing, mathematical modeling, epilepsy, translational research.

Steven C. George, M.D., Ph.D. Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering and Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Sciences (ChEMS), Director, The Edwards Lifesciences Center for Advanced Cardiovascular Technology
Research Interests: tissue engineering, prevascularization of implantable tissues, epithelial-mesenchymal cell communication, airway remodeling, wound healing, physiological systems modeling, and computational methods.
Email: scgeorge@uci.edu
Visit Dr. George's Research Lab

Enrico Gratton, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering and Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, School of Physical Sciences
Research Interests: Fast relaxation in enzymes, fluorescence properties, hydration of proteins, IR spectroscopy of biological substances, nucleic acids--fluorescent probe interactions.
Email: egratton@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Gratton's Research Lab

Anna Grosberg, Ph.D.,
Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Applying multiscale computational modeling and tissue engineering to stem cell-derived cardiomyocytes (heart muscle cells), cardiac morphogenesis (development of structure), and cardiac function.
Email: grosberg@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Grosberg's Research Lab

Jered Haun, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Targeted drug delivery, clinical cancer detection, nanotechnology, molecular engineering, computational simulations Email: jered.haun@uci.edu

 

Elliot Hui, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Biological Microtechnology: spatial cell biology, microscale tissue engineering, global health diagnostics, microfluidic computing
Email: eehui@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Hui's Research Lab

Tibor Juhasz, Ph.D., Professor, Biomedical Engineering & School of Medicine
Email: tjuhasz@uci.edu

Arash Kheradvar, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests:  Cardiovascular engineering with emphasis on cardiac mechanics, cardiac imaging and cardiovascular devices
E-mailarashkh@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Kheradvar's Research Lab

Michelle Khine, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Single Cell Electroporation, Shrinky-Dink Microfluidics, Microsystems for Stem Cell Differentiation, Canary on a Chip, Quantitative Single-Cell Analysis of Receptor Dynamics and Chemotactic Response on a Chip
Email:  mkhine@uci.edu

Frithjof Kruggel, M.D. Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Signal and image processing for analysis of neurofunctional data (MRI, fMRI, PET, ERP, ERF), relation between structure and function in the human brain.
Email: fkruggel@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Kruggel's Research Lab

Abraham P. Lee, Ph.D. Chair and Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering and
Integrated Nanosystems Research Facility, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: Integrated micro and nano fluidic chip processors for the manipulation and self-assembly of biomolecules and other synthesized nanoparticles.
Email: aplee@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Lee's Research Lab

Chang C. Liu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering and Center for Complex Biological Systems
Research Interests: Genetic Engineering, Directed Evolution, Synthetic and Systems Biology, Chemical Biology
Email: ccl@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Liu's Research Lab

Wendy Liu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests:  Cell and tissue engineering, biomaterials, microfabricated technologies, mechanotransduction
Email: wendy.liu@uci.edu

Zoran Nenadic D.Sc.,  Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: Adaptive biomedical signal processing, control algorithms for biomedical devices, brain-machine interfaces, modeling and analysis of biological neural networks
Email: znenadic@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Nenadic's Research Lab

William C. Tang, Ph.D. Associate Dean for Research, Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Director, Microbiomechanics Laboratory
Research Interests: Micro- and nano-scale technology for biomedical implants and micro-scale biomechanics.
Email: wctang@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Tang's Research Lab

Bruce Tromberg, Ph.D. Professor, BLI and Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: photon interactions with biological systems, non-invasive fiber-optic sensors
Email: bjtrombe@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Tromberg's Profile

BME Affiliated Faculty (Joint Appointment with Department)

Mark Bachman, Ph.D. Associate Adjunct Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: design and fabrication of microelectromechanical systems
Email: mbachman@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Bachman's Research Lab

Pierre Baldi, Ph.D. Professor, Information & Computer Science.
Research Interests: bioinformatics/computational biology and probabilistic modeling/machine learning.
Email: pfbaldi@ics.uci.edu
Visit Dr. Baldi's Research Lab

Lubomir Bic, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Information and Computer Science
Research Interests: distributed computing, parallel processing in biological systems
Email:lbic@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Bic's Research Lab

Bruce Blumberg, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Developmental and Cell Biology
Research Interests: biorobotics and functional genomics
Email: blumberg@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Blumberg's Research Lab

Donald J. Brown, Associate Professor in Residence, Department of Opthalmology Research
Email: mailto:dbrown@uci.edu

Peter Burke, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: quantum electronics and quantum information science
Email: pburke@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Burke's Research Lab

Dan M. Cooper, M.D. Professor of Pediatrics, Chief of Pediatric Pulmonology Division, and Director of General Clinical Research Center
Research Interests: Pediatric pulmonology
Email: dcooper@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Cooper’s Profile

Robert M. Corn, Ph.D.Professor, Chemistry, School of Physical Sciences
Research Interests: Surface chemistry, surface spectroscopy, surface biochemistry, biosensors, FTIR, SPR, SHG, DNA computing, liquid-liquid interfaces
Email: rcorn@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Corn’s Research Lab

Carl Cotman, Ph.D. Professor, Departments of Psychobiology and Neurology
Research Interests: computational methods in brain aging, Alzheimer's disease
Email: cwcotman@uci.edu

Nancy A. Da Silva, Ph.D. Professor, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: molecular biotechnology, cloned gene expression, gene amplification and integration, metabolic engineering, and protein secretion, microbial degradation of toxic substances.
Email: ndasilva@uci.edu

Hamid Djalilian, M.D., Associate Professor, Clinical Otolaryngology
Research Interests: Cochlear implants, acoustic neuroma, and chronic ear disease
Emailhdjalili@uci.edu

James Earthman, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Sciences (ChEMS)
Research Interests: biomaterials, dental and orthopedic implants
Email: earthman@uci.edu

Aaron Esser-Kahn, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry
Research Interests: Biomaterials, Carbon Capture, Microvasculature, Synthetic Chemistry, Materials science, Immunology
Email: aesserka@uci.edu

Gregory R.D. Evans, M.D. Professor, Department of Surgery
Research Interests: tissue engineering
Email: gevans@uci.edu

Lisa Flanagan-Monuki, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology
Research Interests: stem cells, neural, embryonic, neuron
Email: lflanaga@uci.edu

Ron Frostig, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Psychobiology
Research Interests: optical methods for brain imaging, functional organization of the cortex
Email: rfrostig@uci.edu

John Fruehauf, M.D., Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
Email:  jfruehau@uci.edu

Steve Gross, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Developmental and Cell Biology
Research Interests: in-vivo function of molecular motors, and optical tweezers
Email: sgross@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Gross' Research Lab

Zhibin Guan, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Chemistry
Research Interests: Synthesis of new generation of biomaterials for gene/drug delivery and tissue regeneration.
Email: zguan@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Guan's Research Lab

Gultekin Gulsen, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Deptartments of Radiology, Physics, and Biomedical  Engineering; Director, Division of Optical Imaging; Co-Director of Onco-Imaging Resource of Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
Research Interests:  Development of optical and multi-modality instrumentation and reconstruction algorithms for in vivo imaging
Email:  ggulsen@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Gulsen's Research Lab

Ranjan Gupta, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Orthopedic Surgery
Research Interests: In-vitro models for chronic nerve injury
Email: ranjang@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Gupta's Research Lab

Christopher Hughes, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Molecular Biology & Biochemistry
Research Interests: Endothelial cells as initiators and targets of immune responses and genes regulating endothelial cell tube formation/angiogenesis
Email: cchughes@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Hughes' Research Lab

James Jester, PhD. Professor, Ophthalmology
Research Interests: Cell biology of corneal wound healing
Email: jjester@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Jester’s Profile

Joyce Keyak, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Research Interests:
orthopaedic biomechanics, bone mechanics, finite element analysis, quantitative computed tomography, and prosthesis design
Email: jhkeyak@uci.edu

Baruch D. Kupperman, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Ophthalmology
Research Interests: diabetic retinopathy, age-related macular degeneration, and the ocular complications of AIDS
Email: bdkupper@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Kupperman's Profile

Young Jik Kwon, Ph.D.  Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: gene therapy, drug delivery, cancer-targeted therapeutics, combined imaging/therapy, nanobiotechnology, tissue engineering
Email: kwonyj@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Kwon’s Research Lab

Jonathan Lakey, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Surgery; Director of Research, Department of Surgery
Email:  jlakey@uci.edu

Arthur D. Lander, M.D., Ph.D. Professor and Chair, Department of Developmental and Cell Biology
Research Interests: Cell Biology, Developmental Biology and Neurobiology, Cancer Biology and Computational Biology
Email: adlander@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Lander's Research Lab

Richard Lathrop, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Information and Computer Science
Research Interests: computational methods in protein engineering
Email: rickl@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Lathrop's Research Lab

Thay Lee, Ph.D. Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Department of Orthopedic Surgery; Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Research Interests: orthopedic biomechanics
Email: tqlee@uci.edu or tqlee@med.va.gov
Visit Dr. Lee's Profile

G.P. Li, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Director, California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology
Research Interests: design and fabrication of microelectromechanical systems
Email: gpli@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Li's Research Lab

Shin Lin, Ph.D. Associate Vice Chancellor, Biomedical Initiatives, and
Professor of Biological Sciences and Physiology and Biophysics.
Research Interests: The combined use of biochemistry, cell biology, molecular biology, and molecular biophysics to study the structure and functions of proteins involved in cytoskeletal/contractile functions and signal transduction in muscle and nonmuscle cells
Email: shinlin@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Lin's Research Lab

John Lowengrub, Ph.D.  Professor, Computational Mathematics
Research Interests: Microstructured materials, such as emulsions and polymer blends, crystals, thin films and metallic alloys, blood and biological tissues
Email: jlowengr@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Lowengrub’s Research Lab 

Ray (Rui) Luo, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Molecular Biology & Biochemistry
Research Interests: protein folding, protein structure and function prediction, molecular recognition, computational ligand screening by docking, molecular dynamics, continuum solvent models, free energy simulations, information technology in chemistry and biology Molecular Biology & Biochemistry
Email: rluo@uci.edu

Marc Madou, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Research Interests: Miniaturization science (MEMS and NEMS) with emphasis on chemical and biological applications.
Email: mmadou@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Madou's Research Lab

John Middlebrooks, Ph.D., Professor, Otolaryngology
Research Interests:  Hearing Research; Neurophysiology; Psychophysics; Auditory Prosthesis; Computational Neuroscience; Auditory Cortex
Emailj.midd@uci.edu

Sabee Molloi, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Radiological Sciences
Research Interests: digital radiography, application of digital subtraction angiography to cardiac imaging, coronary artery flow measurement, digital image processing.
Email: symolloi@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Molloi's Research Lab

J. Stuart Nelson, M.D., Ph.D. Professor, Departments of Surgery and Dermatology
Research Interests: phototherapy and biomedical device development
Email: jsnelson@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Nelson's Profile

Hung Nguyen, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: Self-assembly of biological and biomimetic nanoscale materials based on amino acids and on nucleic acids
Email: hdn@uci.edu

Qing Nie, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Mathematics
Research Interests: Numerical analysis and scientific computing, computational biology, morphogens, intra- and extra- cellular signaling, modeling and simulation of tissue patterning, systems biology, and interface dynamics in materials and fluids.
Email: qnie@math.uci.edu
Visit Dr. Nie’s Research Lab

David Reinkensmeyer, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Research Interests: skeletal muscle control, biorobotics, and rehabilitation
Email: dreinken@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Reinkensmeyer's Research Lab

Philip Sheu, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Research Interests: biomedical database management, Intranet/Internet technologies
Email: psheu@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Sheu's Research Lab

Andrei M. Shkel, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Departments of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: silicon integrated Micro-Electro-Mechanical Sensors and Actuators
Email: ashkel@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Shkel's Research Lab 

Ramesh Srinivasan, Ph.D.  Professor, Cognitive Sciences
Research Interests: brain dynamics, models of EEG/MEG, multi-modal neuroimaging, perception and cognition, applied neuroscience
Email: r.srinivasan@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Srinivasan’s Research Lab

Roger F. Steinert, M.D.Professor of Ophthalmology Research
Research Interests: Cataract surgery, corneal transplantation, and refractive surgery.
Email: steinert@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Steinert’s Profile

Vasan Venugopalan, Sc.D. Associate Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Sciences (ChEMS)
Research Interests: optical diffusion theory, photothermal and photomechanical phenomena
Email: vasan@bli.uci.edu  

Szu-Wen Wang, Ph.D. Associate Professor of the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: Biomolecular engineering, interfacial engineering, drug delivery, biomaterials, nanobiotechnology
Email: wangsw@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Wang’s Research Lab

H. Kumar Wickramasinghe, Ph.D. The Henry Samueli Endowed Chair and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Research Interests: development of  nanoscale measurements/sensors for biology,  low cost, ultrafast, DNA sequencing, single cell assays, modern microscopy
Email: hkwick@uci.edu

Brian Wong, M.D., Ph.D. Professor, Head and Neck Surgery
Research Interests: biomedical optics, tissue engineering, and development of surgical instrumentation
Email: bjwong@uci.edu

Xiangmin Xu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology
Research Interests:  The organization and function of local inhibitory cortical circuits (laser scanning photostimulation, in vivo optical imaging, transgenic mice).
Email: xiangmin.xu@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Xu's Research Lab

Albert F. Yee, Ph.D. Professor, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Research Interests: Physical and mechanical properties of polymers and soft materials, and how they impact nanotechnology
Email: afyee@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Yee's Research Lab

Fan-Gang Zeng, Ph.D. Professor, Head and Neck Surgery
Research Interests: cochlear implants and auditory neuroscience
Email: fzeng@uci.edu
Visit Dr. Zeng's Research Lab 

Weian Zhao, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Research Interests: Stem cell therapy, diagnostics, biosensors, nano- and microtechnology, aptamers
Email: weianz@uci.edu